What type of immigration status is DACA?

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) is a kind of temporary administrative relief from deportation. The purpose of DACA is to give eligible immigrants who came to the United States when they were children protection from deportation.

What category is DACA?

List of EAD Category Codes with 180 Days Automatic Eligibility Info

USCIS EAD Category Code EAD Category Eligibility Description
C33 An alien who has been granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)
C35 Principal beneficiary of an approved employment-based immigrant petition facing compelling circumstances

What type of residency is DACA?

In September 2015, the AAMC added DACA status to the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) as a visa-type category.

Is DACA a nonimmigrant status?

In order to be granted a change of status into a nonimmigrant status like H-1B, TN, or R-1, INA § 248 requires the beneficiary to be in lawful nonimmigrant status to begin with; DACA is not considered a lawful nonimmigrant status.

Can I go to Hawaii with DACA?

Hawaii is part of the United States, so, yes, you can travel from anywhere in the US to Hawaii with DACA.

Can I still renew my DACA 2020?

If it’s been less than a year since your DACA expired, then you can still file your renewal normally. Don’t let your DACA lapse. If you had DACA but your DACA expired more than a year ago, you will need to file the renewal as if it were an initial filing.

IMPORTANT:  Can I delete migrations?

Who qualifies DACA 2020?

are currently in school, have graduated from high school, have obtained a GED, or have been honorably discharged from the Coast Guard or armed forces; have not been convicted of a felony offense, a significant misdemeanor, or more than three misdemeanors and do not pose a threat to national security or public safety.

Who are eligible for DACA?

Individuals must meet following criteria to apply for DACA: Are under 31 years of age as of June 15, 2012; Came to the U.S. while under the age of 16; Have continuously resided in the U.S. from June 15, 2007 to the present.

Can you become a resident if you have DACA?

The DACA program does not provide a direct path to permanent residence (green card). However, certain individuals with deferred action can apply for permanent residence in the United States. In other words, under current immigration law, no individual can apply for a green card on the basis of having DACA.

Can a DACA recipient buy a house?

As of 2021, DACA recipients can get a home loan with the same terms and rates as US citizens. That said, many lenders still don’t offer mortgages to Dreamers.

Population movement